Highland Community Schools Board of Directors Special Meeting Tuesday, November 19, 2019 6:30 p.m. – High School Board Room

The meeting was called to order at 6:32 p.m. by President Nate Robinson.

Roll call was taken with Cindy Michel, Rachel Longbine, Kevin Engel, Megan Allen, Mike Golden (via teleconference) and Nate Robinson present. Lois Schneider was absent. Also in attendance were Ken Crawford, Superintendent, Sue Rich, Board Secretary, Angela Hazelett, Secondary Principal and Jane O'Leary, Elementary Principal.

Engel made a motion to approve the agenda, as presented. Seconded by Longbine.

Motion carried 6-0

Consent Agenda Items:

Minutes: Approval of November 11, 2019 regular meeting minutes.

School Fund Raisers: Highland Post Prom – Boys Wear Prom Dresses to

Basketball games

Longbine made a motion to approve the consent agenda. Seconded by Allen.

Motion carried 6-0

Receive Visitors: None

Board Secretary Sue Rich read the abstract of votes from the November 5, 2019 election.

Director District #2 Mike Golden – 294 votes

Scattering – 3 votes

Director District #4 Robert Schneider Jr –124 votes

Samantha Holden – 230 votes

Director District #6 Kathy Butler – 295 votes

Scattering – 3 votes

Director District At Large Nate Robinson – 304 votes

Scattering – 4 votes

Mr Crawford thanked Cindy Michel for her 18 years of service and Lois Schneider for her 6 years of service on the board.

Michel made a motion to adjourn the final meeting at 6:38 pm. Seconded by Longbine.

Motion carried 6-0

Organizational Meeting

The organizational meeting was called to order at 6:43 p.m. by Board Secretary Sue Rich.

Roll call was taken with Rachel Longbine, Megan Allen, Kevin Engel, Mike Golden (via teleconference) and Nate Robinson present. Also in attendance were Ken Crawford, Superintendent, Angela Hazelett, Secondary Principal, Jane O'Leary, Elementary Principal and Sue Rich, Board Secretary.

Sue Rich, Board Secretary, administered the oath of office to the newly elected directors.

The election of officers was held:

Nominations for President: Nate Robinson was the only nomination President Nate Robinson -6 yes votes, 1 abstained

Sue Rich, Board Secretary, administered the oath of office to the President and he assumed his president duty and took over the meeting.

Nominations for Vice-President: Megan Allen & Mike Golden

Golden declined his nomination

Vice-President Megan Allen – 6 yes votes, 1 abstained

Nate Robinson, President, administered the oath of office to the Vice-President.

Mike Golden left the meeting at 6:48 pm

Engel made a motion to follow board policy 210.2 for the date, time and place of board meetings. Seconded by Longbine.

Motion carried 6-0

Longbine made a motion to follow the Rules of Order in board policy 210.7. Seconded by Allen.

Motion carried 6-0

Longbine made a motion to have The News as the official newspaper of the school district. Seconded by Allen.

Motion carried 6-0

Engel made a motion to have Joe Holland be the official legal counsel for the school district. Seconded by Longbine.

Motion carried 6-0

Longbine made a motion to approve the official bank depositories and limits for the school district. Seconded by Engel.

Motion carried 5-0 Robinson abstained

People's Trust & Savings Bank - \$2,000,000 Hills Bank & Trust Company - \$1,000,000 UMB Bank (PMA- ISJIT) - \$5,000,000 Longbine made a motion to approve the following committee appointments for the 2019-20 school year. Seconded by Allen.

Motion carried 6-0

The following committee appointments were made for the 2019-20 school year.

Special Board Committees:

Finance & Personnel

Kevin Engel

Rachel Longbine

Samantha Holden

Transportation – Buildings & Grounds

Mike Golden

Nate Robinson

Board Policy Review

Nate Robinson

Megan Allen

Legislative Network/IASB Delegate – Nate Robinson

Washington County Conference Board – Mike Golden

School Improvement Committee – Megan Allen, Kathy Butler, Samantha Holden

Technology Committee – Mike Golden, Rachel Longbine and Kathy Butler

Highland Foundation Board Member – Vice-President Megan Allen

Level I & II Investigators – Level I – Building Principals

Level II – Washington County Sheriff's Department

EEO/AAC Equity Coordinator - Bill Zywiec

Personnel – None

Board of Directors:

1) Welcome to the new board members.

Angela Hazelett, Secondary Principal:

1) Thank you to Cindy Michel for her service on the board.

Sue Rich, Board Secretary:

- 1) Updated board policy was handed out.
- 2) Final plans were discussed for the school board convention

Ken Crawford, Superintendent:

1) We will be heading to the school board convention tomorrow and Thursday.

Longbine made a motion to adjourn at 7:10 pm. Seconded by Allen.

Motion carried 6-0

Reports and documents and the full text of motions, resolutions, or policies considered by the Board at this meeting are on file in the Board Secretary's office, 648-3822, Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. -4:00 p.m.

PRESIDENT, NATE ROBINSON SECRETARY, SUE E RICH