Highland Community Schools Board of Directors Special Meeting Monday, November 27, 2023 5:00 p.m. – High School Board Room

The meeting was called to order at 5:02 p.m. by President Nate Robinson.

Roll call was taken with Josh Thomann, Mike Golden, Dan Ruth, Rachel Longbine, Monica Jepson and Nate Robinson present. Melissa Murphy was absent. Also in attendance were Ken Crawford, Superintendent, Jane O'Leary, Elementary Principal and Sue Rich, Board Secretary

Longbine made a motion to approve the agenda, as presented. Seconded by Ruth.

Motion carried 6-0

Consent Agenda Items:

Minutes: Approval of November 13, 2023 regular meeting minutes.

School Fundraisers: Highland FBLA–Holidate Child Care Saturday

Golden made a motion to approve the consent agenda. Seconded by Jepson.

Motion carried 6-0

Golden made a motion to approve taking bids for the elementary bleacher removal with removal timeline to be discussed with each bidder. Seconded by Thomann. Motion carried 6-0

Board Secretary Sue Rich read the abstract of votes from the November 7, 2023 election.

Director District #2 John O'Leary – 256 votes

Scattering – 3 votes

Director District #4 Dan Ruth –267 votes

Scattering – 1 vote

Director District #5 Nate Robinson – 262 votes

Scattering – 5 votes

Director District #6 Joslin Schott - 254 votes

Scattering - 1 vote

At Large Karen Fink - 245 votes

Scattering - 4 votes

Revenue Purpose Statement Yes Votes - 277

No Votes - 46

Longbine made a motion to accept the abstract of election results. Seconded by Jepson.

Motion carried 6-0

Mr Crawford thanked Mike Golden for his 12 years of service on the board and also Josh Thomann and Melissa Murphy for their service. The retiring board members were thanked by the other board members as well.

Golden made a motion to adjourn the final meeting at 5:18 pm. Seconded by Thomann.

Motion carried 6-0

Organizational Meeting

The organizational meeting was called to order at 5:19 p.m. by Board Secretary Sue Rich.

Roll call was taken with Dan Ruth, Monica Jepson, Rachel Longbine and Nate Robinson present. Also in attendance were Ken Crawford, Superintendent, Jane O'Leary, Elementary Principal and Sue Rich, Board Secretary.

Sue Rich, Board Secretary, administered the oath of office to the newly elected directors, Dan Ruth, Nate Robinson, Karen Fink, John O'Leary and Joslin Schott.

The election of officers was held:

Nominations for President: Nate Robinson was the only nomination

President Nate Robinson – 7 yes votes

Nominations for Vice-President: Monica Jepson was the only nomination

Vice-President Monica Jepson – 7 yes votes

Sue Rich, Board Secretary, administered the oath of office to the President & Vice-President.

Jepson made a motion to appoint Sue Rich as Board Secretary/Treasurer. Seconded by Longbine.

Motion carried 7-0

Nate Robinson, Board President, administered the oath of office to the Board Secretary/Treasurer.

Ruth made a motion to follow board policy 210.2 for the date, time and place of board meetings. Seconded by Longbine.

Motion carried 7-0

Jepson made a motion to follow the Rules of Order in board policy 210.7. Seconded by Longbine

Motion carried 7-0

Longbine made a motion to have The News as the official newspaper of the school district. Seconded by Schott.

Motion carried 7-0

Ruth made a motion to have the Ahlers & Cooney law firm with Brett Nitzschke to be the official legal counsel for the school district. Seconded by Longbine.

Motion carried 7-0

Longbine made a motion to approve the official bank depositories and limits for the school district. Seconded by Ruth.

Motion carried 6-0 Robinson abstained

People's Trust & Savings Bank - \$2,000,000 Hills Bank & Trust Company - \$1,000,000

Ruth made a motion to approve the following committee appointments for the 2023-24 school year. Seconded by Jepson.

Motion carried 7-0

The following committee appointments were made for the 2023-24 school year. Special Board Committees:

Finance & Personnel

Rachel Longbine

Nate Robinson

Monica Jepson

Transportation – Buildings & Grounds

Dan Ruth

John O'Leary

Joslin Schott

Board Policy Review

Nate Robinson

Monica Jepson

Legislative Network/IASB Delegate – Nate Robinson

Washington County Conference Board – Dan Ruth

Johnson County Conference Board - Joslin Schott

School Improvement Committee – Rachel Longbine, Monica Jepson, Karen Fink

Community Relations Committee - Dan Ruth

Highland Foundation Board Member – Vice-President Monica Jepson

Level I & II Investigators – Level I – Building Principals

Level II – Washington County Sheriff's Department

EEO/AAC Equity Coordinator – Dean of Students/Superintendent

Board of Directors:

- 1) Robinson welcomed the new board members and stated he would be happy to help any way he can.
- 2) Ruth attended the school board convention and stated it was very informative.

Ken Crawford, Superintendent:

1) Talked over board packets and TGIF for new board members.

No work session this month. The next work session would be Monday, January 22, 2024 at 5:00 pm in the high school board room.

The next regular board meeting will be Monday, December 11, 2023 at 5:00 pm in the high school board room.

Longbine made a motion to adjourn at 5:52 pm. Seconded by Jepson.

Motion carried 7-0

Reports and documents and the full text of motions, resolutions, or policies considered by the Board at this meeting are on file in the Board Secretary's office, 648-3822, Monday through Friday, $9:00 \text{ a.m.} - 4:00 \text{ p.m.}$			
PRESIDENT, NATE ROBINSON	SECRETARY, SUE E RICH		